Work from Home


I was going to tease you that you traveled 1,300 miles to do your work;
Work that you do pretty much all the time back home.
On your vacation, you decide to hunker down on your laptop
Eyebrows furrowed as you peruse the information again and again
Making sure that everything is on the right track.

I was going to tease you that you traveled 1,300 miles to do your work;
In a foreign country, yet in a cafe that feels all too familiar.
Leaning back on the couch to see the bigger picture,
Drawn into that world which you help create;
Seemingly oblivious to your immediate surroundings.

I was going to tease you that you traveled 1,300 miles to do your work;
The rain pours outside and you remain unshaken;
Locked in trance as you weave your magic.
I sit across you lost in wonderment.
Pretending that I too have something important to do.

I was going to tease you that you traveled 1,300 miles to do your work;
Yet I traveled the same distance to watch you do it.
Though my eyes dart from you to my computer screen and back
And my fingers dance busily on the keyboard; my mind never wanders.
So this is what working from home feels like.

A Penny for your thoughts. Speak your mind.

