Distractions


I promised a poem and so I’ll deliver
But first let me tell you about this fever
I have brewing inside of my soul
That burning sensation keeping me from my goal
Sleepless nights while high on caffeine
The voice in my head harassing my brain
Yammering that I have something to say
Too much, in fact, and the words did play
Yet it was silence that accompanied me all week long
My mind wants to protest; my heart sing a song
Socrates and Shakespeare swing swords to a stalemate
Sparks flying on a powder keg of unsaid words tempting fate
So I lie down tongue-tied with the pen on my bedside
Furrowed eyebrows seal the building frustration inside.
The explosion deafening in its silence, they disappear in a blip
I got nothing in my head. Nothing in my heart. Nada. Zilch. Zip

 

A Penny for your thoughts. Speak your mind.

