A Promise


I won’t make a promise that I can’t keep
The brave know better than to boast and fail
I vow to make you smile before you sleep

When the world sends you crumpling in a heap
I can’t leave you alone in your travail
I won’t make a promise that I can’t keep

When days start to slow down to a creep
I’ll spin the dull day into a grand tale
I vow to make you smile before you sleep

Though words are often a little too cheap
And time can make all men turn pale
I won’t make a promise that I can’t keep

One day, if ever your bright eyes weep
However small or grand the problem’s scale
I vow to make you smile before you sleep

Though at times it’ll seem we’re in too deep
And all our plans, like trains derail
I won’t make a promise that I can’t keep
I vow to make you smile before you sleep

A Penny for your thoughts. Speak your mind.

