Taking Flight (A Villanelle)


Leave the earth and come with me, fly away to eternity
For there be no worries there as we flutter on angel’s hair.
Take my hand, let your fears be; into the sunset we shall flee.

In the skies, we’re truly free if you just raise your eyes and see
The choirs of angels. Forget all care as we climb heaven’s stair.
Leave the earth and come with me, fly away to eternity.

Come and float away with me. I’ll sing no songs of tragedy.
There we’ll ask not how we’ll fare instead shake off our every care.
Take my hand, let your fears be; into the sunset we shall flee.

To soar beyond and be free from the mires of reality,
Is in fact, our dreams to snare from their lost and forgotten lair.
Leave the earth and come with me, fly away to eternity.

Just glide through the skies with me; take my hand in yours; Don’t worry
About the world that’s so unfair. Forget the sorrows we bear.
Take my hand, let your fears be; into the sunset we shall flee.

From the past, let us break free. Let’s start anew; just you and me.
Away from the eyes that stare; away from them if you just dare
Leave the earth and come with me, fly away to eternity.
Take my hand let your fears be; into the sunset we shall flee.

8 thoughts on “Taking Flight (A Villanelle)

  1. I got a feeling like it was death coming to take the soul away encouraging the person to give up this life and move away from it into the sky where everything is good.

A Penny for your thoughts. Speak your mind.

