A Knight’s Soliloquy


I was defined by my most wondrous shield
That carried my coat of arms to battle.
On a headlong charge across a bloody field
Left a wake of wicked slain like cattle.

With my cold blade, I rewrote destiny;
I made history bend to my own will.
I did my best to curb all tragedy;
The sword has always been this playwright’s quill.

The time of chivalry is now long past
And the arms I bore now lay forgotten.
Obsolete, I know not how long I can last
As the world ceases to be my garden.

With no dragons or damsels in distress,
Existence is subject to great duress.

6 thoughts on “A Knight’s Soliloquy

  1. For a just another drifter, you write pretty amazing. Loved my visit here! with few dragons and damsels in distress … the world might look a bit better, thank you for the fairytale feeling!

  2. Greetings! How are you?

    I am Blaga, Community Consultant Assistant from Jingle Poetry : http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    You are welcome to join us this Sunday for Monday Poetry Potluck Week 21, we are open 8pm, American Central, will remain open for 72 hours,

    First time participant is encouraged to share 1 to 3 random poems or poems unrelated to our theme.

    Sign in to follow our blog if you can!

    Week 21 Theme: Aims, Goals, and Ambitions

    • Hello Blaga,

      Thank you for visiting my blog, I’m glad you enjoyed my poems. I’ll try to join you for the Poetry Potluck if not by this week then the next.

      Joscar

A Penny for your thoughts. Speak your mind.

